Quand le Cœur s’arrête de Battre (When the Heart stops Beating)

Text and Photographs by Elias Moubarak

I don’t talk much. Not only because I’d rather have my pictures do the talking, but because it’s so much easier not to talk or discuss pictures like these.

Most people wonder about misery. They look at it, stare at it, and will walk away from it very easily in order to forget it.

I chose to take pictures of it. I look at it, stare at it, and live with it through my pictures. I know I should have other choices as a photographer but it feels instinctive to want to show what a MAD world we’re living in.

These things shouldn’t exist. We’re all equal souls.

I might be an extremist against anything that isn’t justice or reason. There is no joy out of taking these pictures. There’s only a person with a camera trying very hard to find himself and make sense out of the human condition..

"Salt" by Elias Moubarak (Dora, Lebanon 2011)

"Shame and Protect" by Elias Moubarak (Corniche, Lebanon 2010) Photo Caption: She was protecting her brother from being photographed. In the end, I think she ended up making a big favor to the adult who asked an 8 year old kid to polish his shoe.

"The World Behind" by Elias Moubarak (Torino, Italy 2009)

"When God is in the House" by Elias Moubarak (Jounieh, Lebanon 2010) Caption: God’s messenger walks away from a deprived mother.

"On the Side" by Elias Moubarak (Dora, Lebanon 2011)

6 responses to “Quand le Cœur s’arrête de Battre (When the Heart stops Beating)

Leave a Reply

