A Souvenir from Nepal’s Streets: Ahmad Sheqairat

Text by Ahmad Sheqairat

Nepal is a place rich in details, objects, colors, culture, taste and a unique atmosphere. Wherever you shoot, you get outstanding photos filled with culture and amusing scenery. The Nepali people are a friendly and simple people that welcome you with warm hearts and tend to get close.

I enjoyed every moment and thanks to the BSP for the great experience!

Photo by Ahmad Sh

Photo by Ahmad Sheqairat

Meditation and yoga bring peace to the soul. As we hiked up Sarangkot Mountain, I was dazzled by the view of the clouds and mountains and the tingly ecstasy feeling I got from the fresh air made that morning more magical than ever.

When we finally reached the peak of the mountain and the meditation began, I couldn’t help but notice the sounds of young girls in the distance playing what seemed to be the original and authentic children’s game of “Hide and Seek”.

I sprung to my feet, leaving the yoga session and hankering to find the perfect angle. I gazed into the horizon, my eyes and camera lens gently followed the little girl as she was looking for a place to hide.

It was a very spiritual morning on Sarangkot Mountain that triggered my senses and inspired me to take what I think were the best photos throughout my vacation to Nepal.

Ahmad is one of the 17 photographers who went on BSP’s Nepal photo-trip in August 2012. This capture is only one among the many unique and stunning street photographs taken during that trip that will be showcased in our upcoming exhibition on June 11th and 12th at the UNESCO Palace. 

Keep posted for more information about the exhibition: Street Kabita: Collective Photography Exhibition

2 responses to “A Souvenir from Nepal’s Streets: Ahmad Sheqairat

Leave a Reply

